Kolkata Knight Riders Team IPL

The Kolkata Knight Riders have won the IPL twice, won the championship in 2012 and 2014, and are regarded as one of the finest teams in the league. Not to mention, KKR reached the finals of the tournament’s previous edition in 2021. KKR is also one of the league’s most astute teams, making the most of every dollar spent at the auction. After Gautam departed, KKR failed to make the semi-finals under Dinesh Karthik’s new leadership. Midway through the 2020 season, he relinquished captaincy to Eoin Morgan. KKR reached the IPL 2021 finals in the UAE under Morgan’s captaincy. KKR is proudly owned by Red Chillies Entertainment and the Mehta Group. They are led by Shah Rukh Khan, while Jay Mehta and actress Juhi Chawls lead the Mehta Group. KKR spent Rs 89.55 crore on retention and the acquisition of 21 new players for an entire team of 25. Shreyas Iyer, the former captain of the Delhi Capitals, was their most expensive acquisition, costing Rs 12.25 crore.

Kolkata Knight Riders Squad

IPL KKR has strengthened its squad; it is a team of balance between experience and youthful flair. Let’s have a look at the probable unit:

Key Players

1. Shreyas Iyer Shreyas Iyer will captain the Kolkata Knight Riders in the IPL 2022, and according to KKR coach Brendon McCullum, the new skipper has all the credentials to be the franchise’s player of the decade. Shreyas Iyer was bought by the Kolkata Knight Riders at a whopping Rs. 12.5 crores. He earlier led the Delhi Capitals to the IPL Final 2020. following competitive bidding and named captain of the two-time Champions-KKR. Shreyas Iyer has been in good form recently, going undefeated in three T20 matches against Sri Lanka. 2. Pat Cummins Australia Test captain drew attention in this league in 2017 when he took 15 wickets in 12 games. If he plays the entire tournament, he will be among the top wicket-takers and don’t be shocked if he contributes with the bat as well, adding to his two IPL half-centuries. 3. Alex Hales In 2017, Australia’s Test skipper gained notice in this league after taking 15 wickets in 12 games. If he plays the entire tournament, he’ll be among the top wicket-takers, and don’t be surprised if he also contributes with the bat, adding to his two IPL half-centuries. 4. Varun Chakraborty In the IPL, the leg-spinner has provided two seasons of regular wicket-taking. He only made one appearance in 2019 but backed it up with 17 wickets in 2020 and 18 dismissals in 2021.

Squad Changes

Andre Russell was kept by KKR for this season. Sunil Narine and Varun Chakravarthy were both important wicket-takers last year and have been retained, along with Venkatesh Iyer. Nitish Rana, Pat Cummins, Shivam Mavi, and Sheldon Jackson were all re-signed.

Skipper Shreyas Iyer and English white-ball specialist batsmen Alex Hales and Sam Billings are the noteworthy new acquisitions for the 2021 Runners-Up.

Recent Developments

Despite reaching the final in 2021, KKR will be without its leading run scorer, Shubman Gill, and their skipper, Eoin Morgan, who has been sacked. They have kept their top two wicket-takers from the previous season, Varun Chakravarthy and Sunil Narne, but have lost Lockie Ferguson, who shone during the UAE leg of the event. Shreyas Iyer, who has been in exceptional T20I batting form for India, succeeds Morgan as captain.

Kolkata Knight Riders Retained Players 2022

  • Andre Russell Rs 12 Crore,
  • Varun Chakravarthy Rs 8 Crore,
  • Venkatesh Iyer Rs 8 Crore,
  • Sunil Narine Rs 6 Crore

Kolkata Knight Riders Final Squad for IPL 2022

  • Tim Southee Rs 1.5 Crore,
  • Shreyas Iyer Rs 12.25 Crore,
  • Ajinkya Rahane Rs 1 Crore,
  • Alex Hales Rs 1.5 Crore,
  • Rinku Singh Rs 55 Lakh,
  • Aman Hakim Khan Rs 20 Lakh,
  • Abhijeet Tomar Rs 40 Lakh,
  • Pratham Singh Rs 20 Lakh,
  • Baba Indrajith Rs 20 Lakh,
  • Nitish Rana Rs 8 Crore,
  • Anukul Roy Rs 20 Lakh,
  • Mohammad Nabi Rs 1 Crore,
  • Sam Billings Rs 2 Crore,
  • Sheldon Jackson Rs 60 Lakh,
  • Pat Cummins Rs 7.25 Crore,
  • Shivam Mavi Rs 7.25 Crore,
  • Chamika Karunaratne Rs 50 Lakh,
  • Umesh Yadav Rs 2 Crore,
  • Rasikh Salam Rs 20 Lakh

Wrapping up

Kolkata Knight Riders are the league’s third most successful team, having won two IPL titles. Gautam Gambhir captained them to their last title in 2014. KKR has been owned by Bollywood stars Shahrukh Khan and Juhi Chawla from the beginning of the event. KKR had an outstanding season in 2021, finishing as runners-up. Following the departure of skipper Eoin Morgan, the team’s leadership was given over to recently recruited Shreyas Iyer. The Kolkata Knight Riders won the IPL in 2012 and 2014, with last season’s runner-up finish being the closest they’ve gotten to winning again.

The Kolkata Knight Riders significantly offset the loss of their essential players by adding veteran and young players to their roster in the IPL 2022 super auction. In addition to repurchasing players like middle-order batsman Nitish Rana for INR 8 crore, young pacer Shivam Mavi for INR 7.25 crore, and Australian Test skipper Pat Cummins for INR 7.25 crore, IPL KKR also made some wise acquisitions by outbidding the other bidders to establish a solid foundation as the franchise looks to carry its history forward.

With the perfect culmination of young flair and experience, KKR is a good contender for this season. They are known to be one of the most innovative teams in the tournament, which can be seen in their business aggressiveness. We at CBTF are here to help you unveil all the exclusive details about your favorite teams. Stay tuned and get exciting details with ease!