Caribbean Premier League

The Caribbean Premier League is a yearly Twenty20 cricket tournament that takes place there (abbreviated CPL or CPLT20). It was started by Cricket West Indies in 2013 to replace the Caribbean Twenty20 as the premier Twenty20 competition in the area. Hero CPL is its actual name because Hero MotoCorp is currently its sponsor. The Guyana Amazon Warriors were defeated by the Jamaica Tallawahs in the inaugural competition's championship match.


Twenty20 domestic cricket had its official debut in the West Indies in 2006 with the privately run Stanford 20/20. The West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) officially added the Stanford competition's second and last edition to its schedule in 2008. However, the event was terminated when its sponsor Allen Stanford was charged with fraud and imprisoned in June 2009. The WICB founded the Caribbean Twenty20 tournament, which later evolved into the next organized Twenty20 event. The CPL T20 competition and the 2010 Champions League Twenty20 competition were timed to coincide, with the latter starting less than two months after the former. As the sole West Indies representative, the top local team from the Caribbean Twenty20 competition was given a spot in the Champions League.

The WICB first made plans for the Caribbean Premier League public when it was revealed that the board was "in the early stages of discussions to develop a commercial Twenty20 league in the area" with an undisclosed investor and intended to finalize a deal by 30 September 2012. The board convened on September 14 to debate and make decisions regarding the governance structure of the board, the structure of the anticipated commercial Twenty20 league, and the structure and organization of the Caribbean Twenty20 CPL Schedule for January.

The Federation of International Cricketers' Associations (FICA) and the West Indies Players Association (WIPA) were also to be invited to address player-related issues linked to the planned T20 competition. On December 13, an agreement was reached between the WICB and Ajmal Khan, the creator of the Barbados-based merchant bank Verus International, to fund the new franchise-based Twenty20 competition when it launches in 2013. Instead of the present territorial framework and a plurality of West Indies-born players, the future CPL cricket was originally expected to contain six Caribbean city-based teams. Along with the 20 annual retainer contracts the board presently finances, Verus International will provide additional funding to the WICB as part of the agreement for further player retainer contracts.

The 29th of July through the 26th of August has been set aside for the 2013 Caribbean Premier League. The tournaments in 2014, 2015, and 2016 took place from 29 June to 7 August, 5 July to 10 August, and 21 June to 26 July, respectively.



The CPL T20 event, which consists of a group stage and a knockout stage, features six teams. In the group stage, each side competes in ten games, three of which are at home. The strange structure of this tournament results from the co-location of all six teams for the first five games in a row, after which the entire event shifts venues for the next five games (and so on). Six stadiums are used (see Venues below), each of which serves as a team's home field. Two semifinal matches, followed by a championship match to crown the tournament winner, make up the playoff stage. All three of the elimination playoff games will be played at Queen's Park Oval or Brian Lara Stadium.

The 6ixty

The Caribbean Premier League and Cricket West Indies will collaborate to organize the 6ixty, a T10 league. In August 2022, a five-day men's and women's competition will kick things off. Several substantial changes are made to the traditional T10 cricket rules:

  • Instead of 10, teams can no longer bat after losing 6 wickets.

  • The first five overs of each inning are all bowled from one pitch end, and the last five overs are all bowled from the other.

  • The fielding club loses a fielder if the final over of an inning is not finished within 45 minutes.

  • The batting team can "unlock" the third Power Play over by hitting two sixes in the first two powerplay overs.


The competition features six organizations with a total of 15 contractual players, including four players under the age of 23 and a maximum of five international players. Each squad consists of one domestic and one international franchise player.

Team: Captain

Barbados Royals - Kyle Mayers

Guyana Amazon Warriors - Shimron Hetmyer

Jamaica Tallawahs - Rovman Powell

St Kitts & Nevis Patriots - Dwayne Bravo

Saint Lucia Kings - Faf du Plessis

Trinbago Knight Riders - Kieron Pollard

Tournament season and results

Out of the six teams that have participated in the league since it began, one team has won the Caribbean Premier League four times, two teams have won it twice, and one team has won it once. Trinbago Knight Riders are the most successful team in the history of the Caribbean Premier League. Both the Barbados Tridents and the Jamaica Tallawahs have won two championships. Trinbago Knight Riders won the 2020 Season final against St. Lucia Zouks to win their fourth CPL championship and consecutive crowns. Following a three-wicket victory over the Saint Lucia Kings, Saint Kitts and Nevis Patriots became the current CPL champions.

For more information related to the Caribbean League, you can visit CBTF Betting.