Rise of Women's Cricket in India

India is a country where cricket is worshiped and considered a religion and the favorite players and teams are admired by the cricket enthusiasts from the bottom of their hearts.

Cricket has emerged in different forms since its inception, such as Test Matches, T20, and One Day Internationals (ODIs). With the popularity of Men’s cricket, India witnessed the play of women cricket matches as well. Do you wonder how all of this started? We’ll take you down memory lane and unveil the wonderful beginnings of women's cricket in India. Likewise, in men's cricket, the gamblers love to place their wagers on women cricket matches as well as it is a gateway to earning big by betting in the cricket league.

Cricket is a game that has its significance across the globe. Most of you may know that cricket is played mainly by men but in recent years, women have also pulled up their socks to make India proud with their stellar performances.

Beginning of Women Cricket in India

Women's cricket is not new to India but the strings have been attached since early 1970. During that time, only a few women had a zest to join the women's cricket team.

In the initial stages, India cricket women weren’t conducted officially. Later, the founder secretary, Mr Mahendra Kumar Sharma came forward to register the Women’s Cricket Association of India (WCAI) under the Societies Act in 1973 in Lucknow, under the presidentship of Begum Hamida Hamida Habibullah.

The efforts of Kumar were a boon for the emerging women cricketers. In the same year, WCAI also got the International Women’s Cricket Council (IWCC).

Between the year 1970 and 1973, there were a lot of women's match activities and the women's team were engaged in 9 out of 12 months.

In April 1973, the first women’s inter-state nationals were organized in Pune in which three teams participated - Bombay, Maharashtra, and Uttar Pradesh. By the end of that year, the committee organized the second edition of the women's cricket matches which was held in Varanasi and this edition included eight teams instead of three.

After the organization of the second cricket national at Varanasi, the related members reorganized the executive committee and Mrs Chandra Tripathi and Mrs Pramilabai Chavan took the charge of chairmanship and president respectively. With the support of Mr MK Sharma, these two women majorly contributed to the development of women’s cricket in the initial stages.

Until the third edition of the women's cricket championship was conducted in Calcutta, the number of participating teams jumped to 14. Consequently, the teams from all the states took part in women's cricket. In the later days, Air India and Railways welcomed women cricketers who later participated as separate teams.

In the history of cricket, other tournaments were introduced in cricket. Consequently, an inter-zonal limited-overs tournament by the name of the Rani Jhansi Trophy was organized in Kanpur in 1974. In the same year, the inter-university league was conducted in Rajkot. It followed sub-junior (U-15) and junior (U-19) tournaments.

The winners of each playing zone were indulged in Indira Priyadarshini Trophy and the nationals’ winner squared off against the rest of the Indian team for the Rau’s Cup.

After a successful stint of 5 years of women's cricket at the domestic level, the first ever bilateral women’s cricket series was conducted in India in 1975 when Australia toured India for U-25 to play a 3 match ODI series in Pune, Delhi, and Calcutta being the venues.

For the three test matches, the teams had three captains - Ujjawal Nikam, Sudha Shah, and Seerupa Bose. After the end of the Australia series, India cricket women played against New Zealand, England, and West Indies at the home ground.

Like the match of men’s cricket, the gamblers find lucrative opportunities in women cricket matches. For cricket betting tips, stay tuned with CBTF Betting Tips.