Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Everything You Need To Know About Big Bash League | CBTF


The Big Bash League is one of the world’s most famous cricket leagues. The Big Bash League has been creative in every aspect, arguably second only to the Indian Premier League in terms of audience and cricket quality. Like the IPL, the BBL attracts players worldwide, making the event even more exciting. Furthermore, the surfaces in the BBL have something for both batters and bowlers, making cricket a joy to watch in general.

Cricket Australia introduced the Twenty20 league in 2011 and is sponsored by the fast-food restaurant KFC. The Big Bash League completed eleven seasons, with the Big Bash League 2021-22 being the eleventh. The Sydney Sixers, Sydney Thunder, Melbourne Renegades, Melbourne Stars, Hobart Hurricanes, Brisbane Heat, Perth Scorchers, and Adelaide Strikers are among the eight city-based franchises in the championship. Six of the eight teams have won at least one BBL championship. With three titles each, the Perth Scorchers and Adelaide Crows are the most successful teams in the BBL.

The Sydney Sixers won the inaugural BBL season in 2011-12, defeating the Perth Scorchers in the final. The Scorchers and Sixers have been among the most consistent teams in the competition, reaching the knockout stages regularly.

Another reason for BBL’s appeal is the improvements it introduces. BBL has always been ahead of the curve in terms of innovation, introducing the bat flip instead of the usual coin toss and components such as Power Surge, X-Factor Player, and the Bash Boost.

However, viewership for the BBL has been declining in recent years. This is due to the absence of most of Australia’s superstars, who are primarily on international duty when the BBL is underway. Every year, the competition is primarily played between December and February.

BBL Winners List 

Here are all the famous Big Bash League winners over the years.


Year Winner Runners-Up Result
2020-21 Sydney Sixers Perth Scorchers Sydney Sixers won by 27 runs
2019-20 Sydney Sixers Melbourne Stars Sydney Sixers won by 19 runs
2018-19 Melbourne Renegades Melbourne Stars Melbourne Renegades won by 13 runs
2017-18 Adelaide Strikers Hobart Hurricanes Adelaide Strikers won by 25 runs
2016-17 Perth Scorchers Sydney Sixers Perth Scorchers won by 9 wickets
2015-16 Sydney Thunder Melbourne Stars Sydney Thunder won by 3 wickets
2014-15 Perth Scorchers Sydney Sixers Perth Scorchers won by 4 wickets
2013-14 Perth Scorchers Hobart Hurricanes Perth Scorchers won by 39 runs
2012-13 Brisbane Heat Perth Scorchers Brisbane Heat won by 34 runs
2011-12 Sydney Sixers Perth Scorchers Sydney Sixers won by 7 wickets


BBL Rules Explained 

The Big Bash League is known for introducing new ideas, and the 2021-22 season will be no exception. Here are some of the new features in BBL 2021.

1) X-Factor Contestant

At the end of the first inning’s 10 overs, teams can substitute an X-factor player. On the squad sheet, the player must be listed as the 12th or 13th member. He can take the place of any team member who has yet to bat or bowled one over or fewer.

2) Boost Bash

Bash Boot is a one-point bonus given to a team in the middle of the second inning. The Bash Boost rules are straightforward. If the chasing team’s score exceeds the opposition’s 10-over score, they will receive one bonus point. If the batting team fails to accomplish so, the chasing team will be awarded an extra point. A match can result in a maximum of four points for a side.

3) A Power Outage

Powe Surge is a two-over period in BBL 2021-22 in which the fielding team can only have two players outside the inner circle. The batting team can use the Power Surge anytime after the 11th over. The Powerplay at the start of each inning has been decreased to four overs. Batting teams can use Power Surge to boost the ante in the middle overs.

Who were the key performers in BBL 2021/22?

  • The tournament’s most runs were scored by Ben McDermott (Hobart Hurricanes).
  • The right-hander hit 577 pitches in 48.08 innings.
  • McDermott was also named Player of the Series.
  • Maxwell scored the most significant point total in BBL history (154*).
  • Peter Siddle of the Adelaide Strikers took the most wickets (30).
  • The pacer’s average was 17.73.
  • His teammate Rashid Khan had the most significant season figures (6/17).

A look at the important dates of BBL 2022/23 

Cricket Australia (CA) has released the Big Bash League schedule for the 12th season (BBL). The regular season will conclude on January 25, 2023, with a doubleheader between the Brisbane Heat, the Hobart Hurricanes, the Sydney Thunder, and the Melbourne Stars.

The Eliminator, Qualifier, and Knockout will occur on January 27, 28, and 29. The Challenger will be held on February 2, with the conclusion on February 4. On December 13, 2022, the premium T20 event will begin. The regular season will consist of 56 matches, followed by five finals matchups.


BBL 2022-23 has also lined up to be played this year. To get the big bash cricket match prediction, stay tuned with CBTF Tips. Here you can also get almost correct cricket betting tips to bet and win from live cricket.


Show CommentsClose Comments

Leave a comment