Karnataka Premier League 

Karnataka Premier League or KPL is a South-Indian Cricket Fiesta played at a domestic level in T20 format. This league is conducted in Karnataka in India. Soon after its inception, it emerged as a popular state T20 league cricket that attracted substantial enthusiasts from the cricket world. 

The first-ever Karnataka Premier League was conducted in 2009 on a similar template of the cash-rich league, IPL. Many big names of Karnataka cricket came up and made huge contributions for the expansion of this cricket tournament. Over time, it attracted a significant fanbase and process emphatically. 

However, during the emergence of this cricket form, it was surrounded by the latest cricket news of corruption that drew off its huge number of fans. 

If you love to bet on cricket matches, KPL matches can be a great opportunity for you. Dive in to know more. 

History of Karnataka Premier League 

KPL has had an impressive journey and set off the stage back in August 2009. The league was an eventual imitation of the vibrant Indian Premier League (IPL). It was established and fostered by the Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA). 

Few years down the line, the league was found to be involved in scandalous activities of match fixing and betting on the events. The rampant fire of match fixing clinched in multiple players and some of them were arrested for maligning the dignity of the gentlemen’s game. It was impacted at a huge scale that the league wasn’t conducted in 2011, 2012 and 2013 due to some administrative failure. Bet on KPL matches.

Inauguration of Karnataka Premier League

The popularity of the domestic T20 Karnataka Premier League started to magnetize many young age individuals across the globe. This type of cricket tournaments have bridged the shallow gap which was intensifying with the traditional format of the game. Moreover, with India’s biggest cricket carnival IPL being played at the national level, many states started their own domestic leagues and one such prominent cricket tournament is KPL. Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA) started it in 2009. It reflects the gameplay of IPL matches.

Editions of Karnataka Premier League

The inaugural season of the cricket league started in August 2009. With a tremendously unexpected response from the audience, KPL started its journey quite well. 

However, due to some issues, the KPL was interrupted for 3 years and got back in 2014. It came back with a bang and consistently rode and emerged glorious. In 2021, it was the 8th edition of the league. Due to the prolonged pandemic effects, it got affected. Get free cricket betting tips here. 

Format of Karnataka Premier League 

KPL is a domestic cricket tournament which is conducted at the state level which is similar to IPL T20. The participating teams get to play for 20 overs each and the team scoring most runs gets the victory. As it is the shortest format, the punters love to place the wagers on such leagues, following the free cricket betting tips. It attracts a larger audience as compared to other formats of cricket. It is conducted in a round-robin and the playoffs format. 

Current KPL Team

Currently, there are 7 Karnataka Premier League teams that participate in the tournament. Previously, the league was conducted with 8 KPL teams and later,  few of them stopped participating due to several issues. Here is the list of current cteams to bet on KPL matches:

  • Bengaluru Blasters

  • Bijapur Bulls

  • Hubli Tigers

  • Mysuru Warriors

  • Ballari Tuskers

  • Shivamogga Lions

  • Belagavi Panthers

KPL Winners List of KPL Matches 

Inaugurated in 2009, KPL has witnessed overall eight seasons. Bijapur Bulls is the most successful team holding two titles in 2016 and 2019.  Let’s see the winners list of KPL premier league:

Seasons Winner Runner-Up
2009-10 Bangalore Provident Belagavi Panthers
2010-11 Mangalore United Bangalore Provident
2014-15 Mysuru Warriors Belagavi Panthers
2015-16 Bijapur Bulls Hubli Tigers
2016-17 Ballari Tuskers Hubli Tigers
2017-18 Belagavi Panthers Bijapur Bulls
2018-19 Bijapur Bulls Bengaluru Blasters
2019-20 Hubli Tigers Ballari Tuskers

Karnataka Premier League Statistics

The KPL T20 league is known to show power-packed performance from the players. Over the years, KPL has become the epitome of Karnataka cricket. No wonder why cricket enthusiasts keep themselves stuck to the KPL updates. Along with contributing to their respective KPL team, they also have attained multiple individual milestones. Check out some impressive individual stats here to bet on cricket KPL:

Top Three Runs Scorer

  • Bharat Chipli- 1430 runs

  • Mayank Agarwal - 1419 runs

  • Mohammad Taha- 1341 runs

Top Three Highest Individual Runs Scorer

  • Krishnappa Gowtham- 134 runs*

  • Aniruddha Ashok Joshi- 125 runs

  • Mayank Agarwal- 119* runs

Top Three Wickets Takers

  • Krishnappa Gowtham- 73 wickets

  • Vijaykumar Vshyak- 62 wickets

  • Jagadeesha Suchith- 57 wickets

For betting on the KPL match, getting free cricket betting tips at CBTF Betting tips!
Whatsapp Icon