PSL Betting

The Pakistan Super League is poised to resume, and while there are a few obstacles to overcome (COVID, player availability, travel restrictions), the competition ought to be able to proceed without incident. The PSL is unquestionably among the world's top T20 competitions. The draft procedure ensures that the teams are always evenly matched and that the cricket is always of the highest calibre.

From a betting standpoint, this is something you need to keep in mind. The balance of power can quickly change from one season to the next since the draft gives teams that placed last the opportunity to try to strengthen their squads.

Let's try to analyze the teams and hunt for betting opportunities in the PSL league.

PSL 2022 Betting Preview

PSL 2022 Winner

Favourites: Karachi Kings (4.33)

The shortest odds are being offered by all the top betting companies on the Karachi Kings winning the PSL in 2022. The Karachi Kings won the competition in 2020 and were a serious contender in the PSL in 2021, but they came in fourth place after the table stage and lost the Eliminator.

Babar Azam finished PSL T20 2021 as the player with the most runs, and Sharjeel Khan also had a significant effect. We don't believe they have taken any steps to improve the remainder of the batting this season, which also underperformed.

Although the Karachi Kings' squad includes Joe Clarke, Mohammad Nabi, and a few talented all-rounders, we simply don't believe that they will be able to succeed by relying solely on their opening combination to produce runs in each game.

The Karachi Kings' bowling attack is quite strong, but that appears to be the norm for every club. Although Imad Wasim, Mohammad Amir, and Romario Shepherd are on the team and will keep the Kings competitive, we do believe that the depth of bowling resources has been slightly impacted.

Simply put, we do not now see the value in betting on the Karachi Kings.

Our pick: Peshawar Zalmi (5.50)

Last season, Peshawar Zalmi came awfully close to winning the championship but ultimately fell short. This time, we believe they have the team to mount another significant challenge and perhaps even prevail.

Peshawar Zalmi, like most PSL clubs, boasts a potent bowling attack, but not every side has the batting depth necessary to mount a credible threat over the course of a full season.

We think Peshawar Zalmi can set itself out from the competition in this area.

The squad included Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Liam Livingstone, Hazratullah Zazai, Kamran Akmal, Sherfane Rutherford, Shoaib Malik, Rahmatullah Gurbaz, and Haider Ali. Having this level of batting ability at your disposal is impressive.

Arshad Iqbal, Usman Qadir, and Wahab Riaz are the top three bowlers in the team.

We believe Peshawar Zalmi could be the team to beat in PSL T20 2022 if they can get off to a solid start.

About the PSL

Based in Lahore, Pakistan, the Pakistan Super League is a professional Twenty20 league. This league was established near the end of 2015, and a deal was made to keep it going for at least 10 years.

The PSL is run by the Pakistan Cricket Board, and it has six teams. Despite having a Pakistani base, the inaugural season was not held there. Additionally, a sizable portion of the league's players are non-Pakistani, and not all of the league's teams are controlled by Pakistani entities.

Contrary to expectations for a league based in Pakistan, Pakistani players do not typically dominate top-flight cricket. Due to its diversity, the league receives a lot of attention from fans all over the world.

Politicians in Pakistan are attempting to make it more of domestic success, and they intend to host every game at home starting in 2019.


The Pakistan Super League consists of just six teams, and each of them signs players using a draft system. This approach differs slightly from those employed by other significant cricket leagues and is more akin to the NFL draft system employed in other significant American sports. As a result, each player is given a draft number that designates the round in which they will be made accessible. Then, in each round, the clubs select one player, with the stronger players often being available in the first round. High-priced auctions are not necessary with this technique.

Each team plays games in a double round-robin format during the PSL season, which takes place between the months of February and March. This implies that every team plays every other team twice.

The playoffs, which include the PSL cricket league final as the title game, are open to the top four teams with the best record.

First and second place has an edge over the third and fourth place under the playoff system. As shown below:


Six teams compete in the PSL, as was previously mentioned:

Islamabad United

Karachi Kings

Lahore Qalandars

Multan Sultans

Peshawar Zalmi

Quetta Gladiators


In September 2015, the Pakistan Super League was announced, and the first season began in early 2016. Rameez Raja and Wasim Akram, two renowned former cricket captains of Pakistan, were early advocates for the league and will continue to be so at least until 2018.

The Pakistan national team had been based in the United Arab Emirates since attacks on the Sri Lankan team in Lahore, despite the fact that the league's five teams represent Pakistani cities. The players of the five teams in the Pakistan Super League came from over a dozen different nations, making it a very diversified league from the start.

The Pakistan Cricket Board claims that there was no lack of interest in the league's individual franchises and that they started accepting bids for the league's five teams less than a month after it was announced. The holding company ARY Media Group, which has its headquarters in Dubai but is owned by a Pakistani businessman, made the largest payment. Given that Karachi is the world's largest and most populous city and is expected to have a sizable following, they spent $26 million on the Karachi Knights.

The Lahore Qalandars, situated in Lahore, was purchased for a bit less by a corporation from Qatar, and Nadeem Omar's Quetta Gladiators were purchased for the least amount of money. The Islamabad United team was far from the most costly at $15 million, but they went on to win the first Pakistan Super League after defeating the Quetta Gladiators in the championship game played at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

All of the franchises were bought for a decade.

PCB Multan was purchased by Schön Properties on June 1st, 2017, for $5.2 million annually, making them the most expensive PSL franchise. However, due to financial concerns, PCB cancelled its rights on November 12th, 2018. On December 20th, 2017, PCB opened the bidding process and resold the "6th team" to the Ali Tareen consortium after receiving $6.35 million for a seven-year proposal that was accepted.

Peshawar Zalmi won the 2017 Pakistan Super League after defeating Quetta Gladiators on March 5 in Lahore. Islamabad United, who won the championship on March 25, 2018, in Karachi, are the current winner.

For more information related to the PSL, follow CBTF Betting.